Business Standard

Another BJP nominee set to be elected unopposed in Arunachal


Press Trust of India Itanagar
Another BJP candidate is set to be elected unopposed in Arunachal Pradesh, after the nomination of his lone rival from Yachuli assembly constituency was found invalid during scrutiny, election officials said on Wednesday.
BJP nominee Taba Tedir is likely to be elected unopposed after the nomination papers of Toko Yaram of Janata Dal United was rejected by the election authorities, Additional Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Kanki Darang said.
Two BJP candidates -- Tedir and Kento Jini -- are already set to be elected unopposed from the Aalo East constituency in West Siang district.
However, they would be officially declared winners only after March 28, the last date of withdrawal of candidature.
Meanwhile, seven independent candidates withdrew their nominations on Wednesday, sources at the CEO here said.
With the withdrawal of candidature, a total of 198 candidates remained in the fray for the assembly polls, while 12 for the two Lok Sabha seats.
Simultaneous Lok Sabha and assembly elections will be held in Arunachal Pradesh on April 11.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Mar 27 2019 | 9:55 PM IST

Explore News