You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Argentina score late equaliser to avoid second defeat

Press Trust of India  |  Bhubaneswar 

Olympic champions survived a scare and scored a late equaliser to eke out a hard-fought 3-3 draw against European winners Netherlands in a thrilling Pool A match of the Hockey World League (HWL) Final here today.

World No. 1 Argentina, who lost 2-3 to Belgium in their tournament opener, twice came from behind to earn a draw and register their first point in the eight-nation event.

The draw also enabled Netherlands to garner their first point in the tournament after they were stunned 2-3 by lowly in their opening game.

After Netherlands took a 2-0 lead through Thiery Brinkman (9th minute) and Valentin Verga (37th), the Los Leones made a valiant fightback to draw level through penalty corner strikes from Matias Rey (45th) and Lucas Vila.

Nertherlands, however, managed to restore their lead in the 55th minute when Mirco Pruijser scored from a penalty corner before Gonzalo Peillat converted a set piece a minute from the hooter to help share the spoils.

Earlier in the day, Loick Luypaert scored the first hat- trick of the tournament as Olympic silver medallists Belgium spanked lower-ranked 5-0 to register their second consecutive win.

are the lowest ranked team in the tournament at ninth but they created a flutter on the second day by shocking two-time Olympic gold medallists and reigning European champions Netherlands 3-2 in their tournament opener.

But the Red Lions taught the Spaniards a hockey lesson and pumped in as many as five goals that included three in the final three minutes of the game.

Florent van Aubel (3rd minute), Luypaert (38th, 57th and 59th) and Cedric Charlier were the scorers for Belgium.

will play Spain in the final pool match on Tuesday while Netherlands will be up against Belgium.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, December 03 2017. 21:30 IST