You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Assam issues notification to form new administrative districts

Press Trust of India  |  Guwahati 

The government has issued a notification regarding formation of new administrative districts and sub-divisions for administrative expediency through a government order.

The two new districts are South Kamrup and East Kamrup, said a government release today.

The new sub-divisions are Bihpuriya-Narayanpur, Naharkatiya, Ramkrishna Nagar, Howraghat, Diyungbra, Dakhin Kamrup, Mukalmua, Kalgachia, Moran, Patharkandi, Katigorah, Merapani, Tihu, Sarukhetri, Sorbhog, Sonapur, Dispur, Guwahati, Azara, Chandrapur, Dhekiajuli, Katlichera, Lakhipur (Goalpara district), Manikpur.

The order also notified that the boundaries of the new districts and sub-divisions and the date of their operation will be notified shortly, the release added.

First Published: Wed, January 27 2016. 19:48 IST