You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Australia rest Starc, Lyon for T20s against India ahead of Tests

Press Trust of India  |  Sydney 

on Thursday rested lead pacer and senior spinner for the T20 series against and

The one-off T20 against will be played in on November 17 while the three-match series against Virat Kohli-led starts in on November 21.

The other players rested ahead of a busy home season are pacer and all-rounder while and make a comeback.

said the senior players were rested primarily because of the upcoming four-Test series against starting December 6 at

"We know coming off the back of the tour to the UAE, a huge summer at home, and and Ashes just around the corner that we have to get the balance right between playing our best T20 team and preparing for the upcoming Test series," said Langer.

"While I know all four have a desire to be playing for in every format, with a really tough Test series against India coming up, we believe their best preparation is to go back and get some really good under their belts in "

On the return of Stoinis and Behrendorff, the former opener added:

"Marcus missed our recent T20 matches in the UAE because he hadn't resumed bowling, but now he's back to full fitness he'll add great depth to the squad. Marcus is such a versatile player, he's a powerful middle order batsman and he provides us with another solid option.

"has also earned a spot in the squad after returning to full fitness. It was exciting to see him bow well in the JLT Cup and in the recent Prime Minister's XI match, and it gave us more evidence of how devastating he can be with the new ball. Tactically we believe it's important to have a good left-arm swing bowler at our disposal for the four matches," said Langer.

Without the services of the suspended and David Warner, Australia have been going through tough times on the field. They lost to in the Test and T20 series played in the UAE before being hammered by in in the first of the ongoing three-match ODI series.

Australia T20 squad: (captain), Alex Carey, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, D'Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye,

India T20 squad: (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav,

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, November 08 2018. 09:55 IST