Business Standard

BJP declares 3 more candidates in MP, drops two sitting MPs


Press Trust of India Bhopal
The BJP Friday declared candidates for three more Lok Sabha constituencies in Madhya Pradesh, dropping two sitting MPs, while suspense remains on the fate of Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan.
So far, the party has announced candidates for 18 out of 29 Lok Sabha seats in Madhya Pradesh.
It has yet to announce candidate from Indore, where the incumbent MP is Mahajan.
On Friday, the party dropped sitting MPs Bodh Singh Bhagat (Balaghat) and Subhash Patel (Khargone). It nominated Dhal Singh Bisen from Balaghat and Gajendra Patel from Khargone.
However, it retained sitting MP Rodmal Nagar from Rajgarh, the home turf of Congress stalwart Digvijaya Singh.
In its first list announced on March 23, the party had announced candidates for 15 seats in the Congress-ruled state.
In the first list, the BJP had dropped five sitting MPs.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Mar 29 2019 | 4:55 PM IST

Explore News