You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Cong candidates' list shows Siddaramaiah's stamp of

Press Trust of India  |  Bengaluru 

seems to have had his way in selection of candidates for the May 12 assembly polls in Karnataka, with most party hoppers getting tickets, upsetting several seniors.

With most of those who switched sides getting tickets, it is seen as consolidation of Siddaramaiah's position within the party, as party veterans like Mallikarjuna Kharge, Veerappa Moily and KPCC chief G Parameshwara were seen opposed to it, preferring long time party workers.

Issuing tickets to party hoppers, including seven rebel JDS of Bangalore-Mysore Infrastructure Corridor project Ashok Kheny, was reported to be a thorny issue while selecting candidates, with said to be standing strongly in their favour.

The is also said to have had his way in getting tickets to and B Nagendra in district.

The two, who are allegedly involved in the illegal mining case, had joined the Congress, ahead of elections.

While Singh was earlier in the BJP, Nagendra was an independent MLA.

B R Patil, Satish Sail, Mankala Subba Vaidy, G Manjunath, S N and are among the other recent entrants to who have got the tickets.

As several of the party hoppers, who have got tickets, have had connection with JDS, Siddaramaiah's former party, it reportedly irked long time party loyalists and veterans.

However, by not acceding to Siddaramaiah's reported wish to contest from two seats, Chamundeshwari in Mysuru and Badami in Bagalkote district of north Karnataka, the party high command is seen to have done some kind of balancing act.

Siddaramaiah's reported wish to contest from two seats is said to have met with stiff opposition from both Kharge and Moily.

The two leaders is said to have stated that it would send wrong message to voters in Mysuru region and would further consolidate Vokkaliga votes in favor of the JDS.

Badami with strong Kuruba presence, the community to which belongs, was seen as second safe option for the as reports have suggested that the battle in Chamundeshwari will not be an easy one for him.

The Chief Minister will now be contesting from Chamundeshwari alone, from where he has won five times and tasted defeat twice.

He was representing Varuna Mysuru constituency which has now been allotted to his son

Amid reports of haggling among top leaders, the last night announced the list of 218 candidates in one go for the 224-member legislative assembly that will go to polls on May 12.

The party has kept candidates for six seats on hold.

They are Sindagi, Nagathan, Kittur, Raichur, Shantinagar and Melukote constituencies.

According to party sources, the Congress is expected to support Puttannaiah's son Darshan Puttannaiah (Swaraj India) from Melukote.

N A Haris, whose son was involved in an attack on a individual at an upscale city pub-cum-restaurant recently is seeking ticket from Shantinagar for re-election.

The incident has come as a major embarrassment to the party ahead of polls.

Among the interesting aspects that mark Congress' list include at least five father-son/daughter combinations together getting ticket.

They include Siddaramaiah and his son Yatindra, Home Minister and his daughter Soumya, veteran leader and his son Mallikarjun, Priya Krishna, and Law Minister T B Jayachandra and son

Other than this, children of several prominent party leaders like Mallikarjuna Kharge's son and K H Muniyappa's daughter have also made it to the list.

Among 218 candidates in the list, and are octogenarians, while at least 15 are women candidates.

While most sitting MLAs have retained their seats other than a few exceptions, at least 12 MLAs have been dropped.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, April 16 2018. 19:45 IST