You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Cong MLAs seek action against MLCs over failed bid to unseat

Press Trust of India  |  Bengaluru 

Several ruling legislators have sought action against MLCs responsible for causing "embarrassment" to the party, as their move to unseat the Legislative Council Chairman failed badly on June 15.

In a letter to Pradesh Committee President G Parameshwara, they also expressed fear about the development hampering the party politically.

Eleven MLAs, including S T Somashekar and K N Rajanna are signatories to the letter, which was released to the media.

Congress suffered a major setback in the Legislative Council on June 15, as the no-confidence motion moved by the party against House Chairman Shankaramurthy was defeated by an united opposition by a single vote.

The move to unseat Shankaramurthy, a veteran,was defeated with JDS continuing to support him afterrejecting overtures by the Congress to join hands with it.

Twoindependents also went with

While the motion for removal of Shankaramurthy secured 36 votes in its favour, 37 were against it.

In the 75-member Council, Congress has 33 members, 23, JDS 13, besides 5 Independents and the Chairman. Currentlyone seat is vacant following the death of BJP MLC VimalaGowda.

The no-confidence motion was moved by senior Congress MLC V S Ugrappa and nine others.

The MLAs in their letter said "the motion moved against the Chairman with the instigation of a few persons and developments following it has caused embarrassment to the party and become a matter of public discussion.'

The move also has led to "secular" votes supporting a "communal" party, it said.

Seeking action against Ugrappa and others,the legislators also demanded that the state Congress unit inform the party high command about them.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, June 17 2017. 20:32 IST