You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

DMK flays EC for not announcing bypolls in TN

Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

DMK chief M K flayed the for not announcing byelections to two assembly constituencies citing monsoon as the reason and said it was not a 'justifiable' decision.

Expressing 'surprise' at the EC's decision, he said by-elections had been held in the state in the past during the North East Monsoon season, between October-December.

The bypoll for RK Nagar constituency, held to fill the vacancy caused by the death of late Jayalalithaa, was conducted only during the monsoon season in December last year, he pointed out.

The while announcing poll schedule for five states and byelections in Karnataka Saturday had said had written a letter asking the commission not to announce the poll dates as there was forecast of cyclones and rains in the state.

"The EC putting off bypolls citing a letter by the state and the monsoon does not appear to be a unbiased and justifiable decision," Stalin said in a statement.

Bypolls are due in Thiruvarur and Thirupparankundram assembly constituencies which fell vacant following the demise of DMK patriarch M Karunanidhi on August 7 and AIADMK MLA AK Bose on August 2 respectively.

O P Rawat had said the EC would announce the bypoll after ascertaining the situation.

Stalin said bypolls for three assembly constituencies in the state when was hospitalised in 2016 were also held during monsoon season in November.

Claiming that the ruling AIADMK was afraid of facing elections, he accused it of avoiding the bypolls through the

Senior AIADMK M Thambidurai sought to dismiss the opposition party's charge and said the EC was an independent and powerful body which none can influence.

Defending the Chief Secretary's communication, Revenue Minister R B Udhayakumar said in that the government has the responsibility to apprise the commission of the prevailing situation in the state.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, October 07 2018. 21:50 IST