You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

East Bengal enter the main round of U-20 I-League

Press Trust of India  |  Jamshedpur 

Strong contender East Bengal moved into the final round after holding Tata Football Academy to a goalless draw in its last league engagement in a Group B encounter of the 6th Under-20 I-league tournament here today.

Sesa Football Academy secured a 2-0 win over in a Group C match.

Earlier, in two other matches played in the first session, McDowell and Dempo SC won their respective matches defeating Churchill Brothers 1-0 and 2-1 in Group C and B encounters.

East Bengal topped the points chart with ten points (three win and one draw) to sail into the final round and TFA had seven points with two wins and one draw.

TFA had one more match to play against Dempo FC on Thursday to complete the league engagement.

Dempo FC, which won two matches and lost to East Bengal 1-2, has six points.

In a closely contested encounter, East Bengal and TFA struggled to score. Both the teams failed to convert the opportunities during the 90 minutes of play.

While the TFA boys kept making moves from the flanks, the Kolkata outfit dominated the proceeding in the mid-field.

Though both the teams succeeded in creating opportunities they missed the target on each occasion.

In another match, Sesa Football Academy surged ahead in the Mauvin Borges 50th minute goal after the team had gone to the breather without scoring.

Striker Olvin F Cardozo extended the margin when he struck an accurate shot into the net in the 86th minute.

Earlier, won by a solitary second half goal scored by striker Prohlad Roy in the 51st minutes against Churchill Brothers while Dempo FC edged past 2-1.

Goan outfit Dempo came from behind to defeat in the Group B tie.

Striker Pawan Thakur put ONGC into the lead in the 15th minute, but Dempo striker Clencio Pinto scored the equalizer a minute into the second half, while Myron Fernandes sealed the fate in the 55th minute.

First Published: Tue, March 12 2013. 21:35 IST