You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Google Translate to support 7 more Indian languages

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Tech giant Google today said its 'Translate' app will support seven more Indian languages, including Bengali, Gujarati and Kannada, to enable users to translate even visuals like road signs in English to these regional languages.

"In an effort to bring down language barriers, Google today announced several updates to its Translate App. Google Translate has also added support for conversation mode in regional languages including Bengali and Tamil," the US-based firm said in a statement.

Starting today, users in Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Marathi, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu can experience offline translations and instant visual translation in these languages, it added.

Offline support will enable Indian language users to translate a word or sentence even when they are not connected to the internet.

To use offline translations capabilities, users will need to download the specific language pack from the Translate app when connected to the internet.

The Translate app allows users to use the camera mode to capture a photo of English text and get a translation for it in these languages.

With Word Lens feature, users can instantly translate text using their camera to understand visuals like street signs or restaurant menus that are written in English.

These features are already available for Hindi language on the Google Translate app.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, September 13 2017. 22:32 IST