You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

K G Kenye declared elected RS MP from Nagaland

Press Trust of India  |  Kohima 

Consensus candidate of the ruling NPF-led Democratic Alliance of Nagaland, K G Kenye has been declared elected unopposed to the lone seat from

Kenye was the lone candidate who filed nomination for the vacant seat from on the last date of withdrawal of candidature today, the returning officer of the polls, N Benjamin Newmai said.

The 60-member has 48 NPF, 4 and 8 Independent MLAs.

While as an ally of the NPF-led DAN government has extended support to the NPF nominee for the lone seat, the eight Independent MLAs are also with the NPF.

if necessary was to be conducted on March 21.

The lone seat from had fallen vacant following the demise of sitting MP Khekiho Zhimomi in November last year. His tenure was to end in April.

First Published: Mon, March 14 2016. 20:14 IST