You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Limca Book honours literary stalwarts in special edition

Press Trust of India  |  Jaipur 

Indian literature stalwarts including Malayalam author M T Vasudevan Nair, Tamil exponent C S Laxmi and Bengali author Mahasweta Devi have been honoured in a special edition of the Limca Book of Records that focuses on writing.

A total of 15 literary bigwigs were chosen to be included in the People of the Year, in the 26th edition of the book of records that was launched at the Jaipur Literature Festival here today.

The list includes Sitakant Mahaptara (Odiya), Rahim Rahi (Kashmiri), Ruskin Bond (English), Nayantara Sahgal (English) Namwar Singh (Hindi) M T Vasudevan Nair (Malayalam), Mahasweta Devi (Bengali), Laxman M Gaikwad (Marathi), Kunwar Narain (Hindi), Gurdial Singh (Punjabi), C S Laxmi (Tamil) Chandrasekhar Kambar (Kannada), Amitav Ghosh (English), Nagen Saikia (Assamese) and Nida Fazli (Urdu).

The jury for the 'People of the Year' title included Rajya Sabha MP H K Dua, Harper Collins Publisher Karthika V K, Secretary of Sahitya Akademi K Sreenivasarao and veteran journalist Mark Tully.

A special pocket edition of the book was also launched in English and Hindi, with first sales at the ongoing Jaipur LitFest 2015.

Limca Book of Records (LBR), published yearly since the last 26 years covers records in various fields ranging from agriculture, education, literature to music, communication, medical science, transport and media among others.

Previous editions of LBR have included one that focusses on on cinema and another on the country's women achievers.

First Published: Wed, January 21 2015. 16:15 IST