You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Major shake up in Mahila Cong; 5 new state prezs appointed

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

In a major shake up in the party's women wing, today appointed five new state presidents besides nominating five general secretaries and nine secretaries.

The party also set up a five-member NGO Coordination Committee for Mahila

Mandvi Chauhan has been made Pradesh Mahila chief for replacing Archana Jaiswal, while Amita Bhushan in replaced Vinita Vijay for the post.

Sumitra Chouhan was made the Pradesh Mahila Congress chief for Haryana, while Anita G Rawate replaced Ambika Markam in Chhattisgarh.

Clotildes Da Sukva E Braganca has been given the post for which was earlier held by Monica Dias.

The five new general secretaries appointed in All Mahila Congress are five-time Chandrikaben Chudasama from Gujarat, Vilaspur Mayor Vani Rao from Chhattisgarh, Jarjum Ete from Arunachal Pradesh, former NSUI chief Minakshi Chandrawat from and the just replaced Mahila Congress chief Dias.

Among the eight secretaries appointed are former Youth Congress general secretary Perpreet Brar from Punjab, Charulata Tokas from Maharashtra, Shahnawaj Yasmin Haque from Assam, Pratima Singh from Uttar Pradesh, Narella Sharada from Andhra Pradesh, Antoninette D'Souza from Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Jyothimani from Tamil Nadu and Neetu Verma Soin from Delhi.

The five-member NGO Co-ordination Committee consists of Indira Iyenger (Madhya Pradesh), Jira Hari Singh (Karnataka), Sonal Mehta (Gujarat), Anita Karnavar (Kerala) and Bimla Saroha (Haryana).

The party also appointed seven zonal Presidents for Mahila Congress. They are Shabana Khandelwal, Anita Lodhi Rajput, Jamuna Jha, Nootan Bajpai, Talat Aziz, Sudha Singh and Arti Dixit.

"Congress President Sonia Gandhi has approved proposal for appointing office bearers of All Mahila Congress, five Pradesh Mahila Congress Presidents and seven Zonal Presidents for Mahila Congress as cleared by the in-charge of frontal organisations and party vice president Rahul Gandhi," AICC general secretary Janardan Dwivedi said in a press release.

First Published: Tue, February 18 2014. 22:25 IST