You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Moily honoured with 'special award' by Chennai-based NGO

Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

Six parliamentarians have received 'Sansad Ratna' awards while former Karnataka and senior M has bagged a special award for heading the parliamentary standing committee on

Five MPs from and one from Odisha -- belonging to different parties -- won the best parliamentary performance award from -- a Chennai-based NGO.

The 'Sansad Ratna Awards 2018' was instituted nine years ago by the NGO.

These awards were instituted at the instance or suggestion of the late Dr APJ as recognition for members of Parliament (MPs) outstanding performance in Parliament, said K Srinivasan, of Prime Point Foundation, in a release.

Among the recipient MPs were: Bhartruhari Mahtab (Biju Janata Dal), (Nationalist Party), Shrirang Appa Barne (Shiv Sena), (Indian National Congress), and Dhananjay Bhimrao Mahadik (Nationalist Party) under different categories.

The MPs received their award from former West Bengal M K Narayanan and former Chief Election T S Krishnamurthy, the release said.

The selection process is transparently done, based on the data provided by the Secretariat and PRS India, added.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, June 11 2018. 16:55 IST