You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

MP polls: Cong announces second list of 16 candidates

Press Trust of India  |  Bhopal 

The Sunday issued its second list of 16 candidates which included five sitting MLAs and several new faces for the November 28 Assembly polls.

The party since Saturday has declared the names of 171 candidates for the assembly elections.

Senior has been renominated from the Vijaypur seat in district where he will be pitted against BJP's Sitaram Adivasi.

Sources said Rawat wanted to contest from Sabalgarh in district, but dropped his demand following opposition within the party.

Four other sitting MLAs who have been renominated comprise Mahendra Singh Yadav, Gopal Singh Chauhan, and

They have been give tickets from Kolaras in district, Chanderi in district, Rajnagar in district and Mungaoli in district respectively.

The party has nominated a new face, Sidhharth Lada (36), against Yashodharaja Scindia, and a member of the erstwhile Gwalior royal family, from

Mahendra Singh Chouhan will take on Vishwas Sarang, a in the government, from Narela seat in

Chouhan had contested unsuccessfully against Chief from Budhni in the 2013 Assembly polls.

The has nominated Baijnath Kushwaha, a young face, to take on BJP's Sarla Rawat in Sabalgarh constituency in district.

The party renominated to take on Public Relations Minister again from Datia. Bharti had lost to Mishra from Datia in 2013.

Congress has nominated fresh face Govardhan Dangi from Biaora constituency in district.

Former Congress minister will take on sitting BJP MLA Kedarnath Shukla from Sidhi constituency.

(32), a new face in the Congress' list, will take on Gopilal Jatav, a former minister from Guna (SC) seat.

Party sources said Ahirwar has a strong presence in the area.

Debutant has been given a ticket against BJP's Yogesh Pandegra from Amla (SC) constituency in district.

The Congress has pitted Rambhajan Saket against BJP candidate from Devsar (SC) constituency in Singrauli district, both of them fighting their first the assembly polls.

The Congress has nominated and from (ST) in district and Petlawad (ST) seats in district.

The Congress had announced its first list of 155 candidates Saturday, in which it renominated 46 sitting MLAs.

The names of Congress and poll campaign committee in-charge Jyotiradtiya Scindia are not on the list. They are touted to be frontrunners for the chief minister's post if the party wins.

The first list of 155 names was released late Saturday night and it includes that of 21 women and 24 fresh faces.

It has struck a fine balance between supporters of Scindia and former Digvijay Singh, sources said.

of opposition in the state and son of former late Arjun Singh, will fight from Chruhat.

With the second list of 16 MLAs, the Congress has now announced candidates for 171 seats.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, November 04 2018. 22:20 IST