You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Netam, Chhaya Verma elected to RS from C'garh

Press Trust of India  |  Raipur 

Ramvichar Netam of rulingBJP and opposition Congress's Chhaya Vermawere today elected unopposed to the from Chhattisgarh.

The deadline for withdrawal of nominations ended this afternoon. "Both have been elected unopposed," said the Assembly's Principal Secretary Devendra Verma.

Of the five members from Chhattisgarh, the term of two -- Nand Kumar Sai (BJP) and Mohsina Kidwai (Congress) -- is to expire this month.

The other three members from the state are Bhushan Lal Jangde and Ranvijay Pratap Singh Judeo of and Motilal Vora of

Netam is BJP's national secretary and a former state cabinet minister. An influential tribal leader, Netam lost from his traditional Ramanujganj constituency to Congress's Brihaspat Singh in the 2003 Assembly elections.

Chhaya Verma is a veteran leader.

First Published: Fri, June 03 2016. 19:42 IST