Business Standard

Over 66 pc voting in MP till 6 pm


Press Trust of India Bhopal
An average 66.09 per cent voter turnout was recorded till 6 pm across six Lok Sabha seats in Madhya Pradesh that went to polls Monday, an official said.
A total of 1.05 crore people were eligible to vote for the six seats. The polling began at 7 am.
"An average 66.09 per cent turnout was recorded till 6 pm. Those in queue (at 6pm) will be allowed to vote and the final figure will be released later," an election official said.
Voting figures till 6 pm were as follows: Sidhi- 56.82 per cent, Shahdol- 66.89 per cent, Jabalpur- 64.05 per cent, Mandla 67.09 per cent, Balaghat 70.13 per cent and Chhindwara- 72.95 per cent.
The corresponding figures till 5pm were as follows: Sidhi- 47.76 per cent, Shahdol- 64.89 per cent, Jabalpur- 64.05 per cent, Mandla 64.54 per cent, Balaghat 66.88 per cent and Chhindwara- 71.71 per cent.
Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of the state V L Kantha Rao said that during a mock-poll, electronic voting machines (EVMs) were replaced at 207 polling booths as some glitches were found. The polling started on time after the machines were replaced, he added.
EVMs were also replaced at 106 polling booths due to malfunctioning after the voting began.
At two places under Sidhi constituency, locals threatened to boycott polling but officials persuaded them to vote, he said to a question.
Asked about BJP candidate from Sidhi, Riti Pathak, reportedly receiving a threat, Rao said, "The district collector has been asked to take action."

No further details about the incident were available immediately, officials said.
In Naxal-affected Baiher, Lanjhi and Paraswada Assembly segments under Balaghat parliamentary seat polling was held from 7 am to 4 pm.
Apart from six Lok Sabha seats, voting is also being held for by-election to Chhindwara Assembly constituency, where Chief Minister Kamal Nath is in the fray.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Apr 29 2019 | 6:50 PM IST

Explore News