You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Presidential poll: Parrikar, MLAs cast vote

Press Trust of India  |  Panaji 

A total of 38 MLAs out of the 40, the actual strength of the Assembly, today cast their vote in the Presidential with Chief Minister being among the early voters.

Parrikar, who is MP from Uttar Pradesh, voted at around 11 am at the Secretariat at Porvorim. The former defence minister is yet to be elected to the Legislative Assembly since he took charge of the state in March this year.

Forward Party's (GFP's) Jayesh Salgaoncar and Vinod Palyekar, Congress' Philip Neri Rodrigues, Ravi Naik, and Tony Fernandes, and BJP's Pramod Sawant and Pravin Zantye were among the early voters.

The current strength of the 40-member House is reduced to 38 in the wake of the resignations of (Congress) and Siddharth Kuncolienkar (BJP).

Three MPs from the state - Shantaram Naik (Rajya Sabha), Shripad Naik (Lok Sabha) and Sawaikar (Lok Sabha) will cast their votes in

GFP, a ally, is supporting the candidate Ram Nath Kovind.

GFP leader and state minister Vinod Palyekar said his party had taken the right decision to support Kovind. "We are part of the There is no question of voting for anyone else," he said.

Salgaoncar, who is the incumbent Housing Minister, said the GFP is supporting Kovind as "he is a good leader".

All three MLAs of another ally, the Maharashtravadi Gomantak Party (MGP) also cast their vote.

The MGP had extended support to Kovind.

Former chief minister and senior leader said the MLAs of his party voted as per their conscience.

"We have voted for the UPA candidate Meira Kumar. Everyone voted as per conscience," he said.

In the truncated House, the has 12 MLAs, the 16, the MGP 3, the GFP 3, Independents 3, and NCP 1.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 19:32 IST