You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Professionals disillusioned with Modi govt: Tel Cong president

Press Trust of India  |  Hyderabad 

Prime Minister Modi has disappointed professionals in different walks of life who voted for him in 2014 hoping that he would usher in a positive change in the country, president N Uttam Kumar Reddy alleged here today.

"A majority of professionals across the country have fallen prey to the political propaganda of the in 2014 elections. They voted to make Modi the Prime Minister with the hope that he would fulfill all the promises. However, they were shocked after realising that the has cheated them," he told reporters here.

Vice-President has realised that millions of professionals across the country could play an active role in strengthening democracy and he, therefore, decided to form AIPC (All Professionals' Congress) with former Union minister Sashi Tharoor as its chairman, Reddy said.

Welcoming the appointment of J Geeta Reddy as the coordinator of AIPC for South India, he said she is a senior legislator, former minister and a highly-qualified Dalit leader.

Reddy, a former officer in Indian Air Force, said professionals can do a lot if they enter public life.

"My entry into politics was accidental. As an Indian Air Force (IAF) fighter pilot, I had never imagined that someday I would enter politics. But I joined electoral politics, got elected as for four terms and now I am heading the unit of Indian National Congress," he said.

The at the Centre and the TRS in Telangana have damaged the four pillars of democracy, he alleged.

"Both Modi and KCR (Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao) are on a spree to destroy democratic institutions. Professionals could stop this massacre of democracy by joining the Congress party," he said.

Geeta Reddy said the Professionals' Congress would identify and debate issues concerning common people from village to the national level.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, September 16 2017. 20:28 IST