You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

SAD announces second list of candidates

Press Trust of India  |  Chandigarh 

Ruling Shiromani Akali Dal tonight announced the second list of nine party candidates, including five new faces, who will contest the 2017 Assembly elections.

In a statement here, SAD President Sukhbir Badal said that the remaining candidates will also be declared shortly.

Among the candidates were Suba Singh Badal from Jaitu constituency, Darbara Singh Guru (retd IAS) from Bassi Pathana, Teerath Singh Mahla from Bagha Purana, Jagdeep Singh Nakai from Mansa, Mohammad Owais from Malerkotla, Gulzar Singh (player) from Dirba, Gobind Singh Longowal from Sunam, Bibi Mohinder Kaur Josh from Sham Chaurasi and from Budhlada constituency.

In the list, Suba Singh Badal, Teerath Singh Mahla, Mohammad Owais, Gulzar Singh and are the new faces who will contest for the first time, party sources said.

In this list, the constituency of D S Guru has been changed to Bassi Pathana. Guru, who had been the former Principal Secretary to CM, had contested 2012 assembly polls on SAD ticket from Bhadaur (reserved) constituency and had lost to Congress candidate Mohammed Sadiq.

Earlier, the party had announced the first list of 69 candidates. has 117 assembly constituencies.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, November 26 2016. 21:57 IST