You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Sen, Tendulkar among 25 Living Legend awardees

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Nobel laureate Amartya Sen, Bharat Ratna Sachin Tendulkar and CNR Rao, conductor Zubin Mehta, jurist Fali Nariman, cine stars Amitabh Bachchan and Rajnikanth were among the 25 Indians given the NDTV Living Legend awards by President Pranab Mukherjee here today.

India's 25 Greatest Global Living Legends, as awardees were called, were honoured at an event in Rashtrapati Bhawan for the distinguished service they have rendered in their respective fields.

A number of Union ministers and senior politicians were present on the occasion.

Industrialists Ratan Tata and Mukesh Ambani, composer AR Rahman, sculptor Anish Kapoor, SS Badrinath, founder of noted eye hospital Sankara Nathralaya, SEWA founder Ela Bhatt, flautist Hariprasad Chaurasia, Pepsico CEO Indra Nooyi, former cricketer Kapil Dev, tennis player Leander Paes were among honoured.

Awards were also given to Geneticist MS Swaminathan, Infosys founder MR Narayana Murthy, bollywood star Shahrukh Khan, artist Syed Haider Raza, Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, who shared Nobel prize in chemistry in 2009, novelist and poet Vikram Seth, actress Waheeda Rehman and Cipla chairman Yusuf Khwaja Hamied.

First Published: Sat, December 14 2013. 21:25 IST