You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Seven candidates in fray for Panaji, Valpoi bypolls

Press Trust of India  |  Panaji 

A total of seven candidates are in fray for the upcoming bypolls in Panaji and Valpoi constituencies scheduled for August 23.

Chief Minister is contesting the from Panaji seat.

He has been representing this seat for more than two decades till 2015 before being elevated to the union cabinet.

Of the total 11 candidates, who filed their nominations, four were declared null and void during the scrutiny held on August 7, an official from chief electoral office said here.

Since no nomination was withdrawn on Wednesday, which was the last day to do so, seven candidates including four in Panaji and three in Valpoi will fight it out to enter the House.

In Panaji constituency, Parrikar from BJP, Girish Chodankar (Congress), Anand Shirodkar (Suraksha Manch) and Kenneth Silveira (Independent) are in fray.

While in Valpoi, Health Minister on ticket is pitted against Roy Naik of and another independent candidate Rohidas Gaonkar.

A total of 51,032 voters are eligible to cast their vote that include 26,058 female voters and 24,974 male voters, during the by-in both the constituencies.

The in Panaji was necessitated after MLA Siddharth Kuncolienkar resigned to make way for Parrikar and in Valpoi, had resigned as MLA to join

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, August 09 2017. 20:22 IST