You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Seven political parties seek EC's registration

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

With the elections round the corner, at least seven political parties have sought registration from the (EC) in the recent past, officials said Tuesday.

The organisations are - Bhartiya Vikash Dal United, Loktantrik Jan Swaraj Party, National Awami United Party, Purvanchal Navnirman Party, Rashtriya Janshakti Samaj Party, and (Jan).

The Commission had last registered 22 political parties in November, 2018.

At present, there are over 1,900 registered parties in the country, out of which only a few are recognised by the EC, the polls watchdog.

Out of the recognised parties, seven are national parties, while 59 are state parties.

The polls are expected to be held in the middle of this year.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, January 08 2019. 20:31 IST