You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Sirisena inducts 7 ministers, including a Tamil from Jaffna

Press Trust of India  |  Colombo 

Sri Lankan today inducted seven new ministers in his government, including a Tamil who is the only elected of the ruling Freedom Party from Jaffna, the capital of Northern district.

Two state ministers and five were sworn-in by at a function at the Presidential Secretariat, amid an internal bickering within the unity government.

Angajan Ramanathan, of the Sirisena-led Freedom Party from Jaffna, was appointed as a

The main Tamil party, Tamil National Alliance, had last week objected to Ramanathan being appointed as the of Parliament.

Five out of the seven ministers appointed today are from

and Wickremesinghe are involved in a political tug of war since mid February when the asked the to step down.

The expansion is being seen as a reward to the UNP back benchers, who stood by Wickremesinghe when no trust motion against the was brought by the united Opposition in Parliament in early April.

With today's swearing-in, the number of state ministers and the number of has increased to 22 each.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, June 12 2018. 17:10 IST