You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Sivan K named new ISRO chairman

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

The today appointed K as the of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) to replace of A S

The of the Cabinet approved his appointment as secretary, and of for a tenure of three years, an order issued by the personnel ministry said.

Sivan, at of Space Centre, will succeed Kumar, who was appointed on January 12, 2015.

He graduated from in aeronautical engineering in 1980 and completed Master of Engineering in Aerospace engineering from IISc, in 1982, according to his biodata.

Subsequently, he completed his PhD in Aerospace engineering from IIT, in 2006.

joined the ISRO in 1982 in PSLV project and has contributed immensely towards end to end mission planning, mission design, mission integration and analysis.

He has numerous publications in various journals and is a fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering, Aeronautical Society of India and

has received numerous awards throughout his career which includes Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from Sathyabama University, Chennai in April 2014 and Shri Hari Om Ashram Prerit Dr Research award for 1999.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, January 10 2018. 18:30 IST