You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

WB govt to set up two new police commissionerates

Press Trust of India  |  Kolkata 

The has decided to set up two new police commissionerates in West and East Midnapore districts.

The proposed two new police commissionerates will be set up in Kharagpur in district and Haldia in East Midnapore district, a senior official at the state Home department said today.

"This is a proposal which will soon take shape. We have already started working on it. The two police commissionerates will be at Haldia and Kharagpur," the officer told PTI.

With the introduction of two new commissionerates, the number of police commissionerates in the state will be eight.

Incidentally, six new police commissionerates were set up in after came in power.

The six new police commissionerates are Howrah, Asansol-Durgapur, Bidhannagar, Barrackpore, Siliguri and Chandannagar, which was the last police commissionerate set up by state in Hooghly district.

The Asansol-Durgapur Police Commissionerate with 20 police stations under its jurisdiction, is the largest followed by Barrackpore (12), Chandannagar (10), Bidhannagar (9), (8) and Siliguri (5).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, November 15 2017. 12:57 IST