You are here » Home » Sports ยป ICC World Test Championship
  • South Africa


  • West Indies

    297 & 28/0


    204 & 120

    West Indies won by 10 Wickets
  • South Africa




    Thursday 07 Apr 2022, 13:30 IST
  • England


    New Zealand


    Thursday 02 Jun 2022, 15:30 IST
  • England


    New Zealand


    Friday 10 Jun 2022, 15:30 IST

Point Table

Position Teams Played PCT(%)

World Test Championship final

The final of inaugural edition of ICC World Test Championship (WTC) will be played between Indian cricket team and New Zealand cricket. The Southampton’s Ageas Bowl Stadium will host the WTC final, which begins from June 18, 2021. The match timing for India vs New Zealand final will be 3:00 pm Indian Standard Time (IST).

Inaugural edition of WTC

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on July 30 launched the inaugural World Test Championship, setting the stage for a long tournament in red-ball cricket to determine the World Test Champion.

Teams in ICC WTC

The two-year affair comprises top nine Test teams-- Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and the West Indies -- who will compete in 71 matches in 27 series.

Format of WTC

Each team will play three home and three away series. The top two teams at the end will compete in the ICC World Test Championship Final in the UK in June 2021. The nine teams will figure in 27 series with the champions decided after 71 Test matches. The final will be played in June 2021 in the UK.

First WTC match

The first Ashes Test between England and Australia at Edgbaston marked the inaugural game of the event.

India in ICC WTC

India will not play against Pakistan because each team has picked six opponents by mutual agreement, within the existing framework of the Members rights agreements. Also, the teams can play matches outside the World Test Championship during this period.

Accordingly, The Indian team would be playing against West Indies, South Africa, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Australia and England. India will play away series against West Indies, New Zealand and Australia.

ICC WTC final live streaming and telecast details

The WTC final will be governed by ICC and Star Sports has the right to live broadcast the matches organized by International cricket body.

Rules and regulation of ICC WTC

The Host Board is responsible for all organizational matters including venues, broadcast, ticketing, etc. The ICC is responsible for overseeing the competition by way of providing match officials and ensuring matches are played as per the World Test Championship playing conditions and competition terms. The ICC is also responsible for delivery of the finals.

Points system in ICC WTC

In the Test Championship, a series can have a minimum of two matches and a maximum of five matches. Every match will be a five-day affair. Teams can play day-night Tests by mutual agreement. The WTC will be played over two years across different continents. The matches will be played just like any bilateral series but with the added context of a competition and one champion team.