You are here: Home » Government Press Release » News
Business Standard

Setting Up of New ICPs



The Government has already setup and operationalised five Integrated Check Posts (ICPs) at Attari (Punjab), Agartala (Tripura), Petrapole (West Bengal), Raxaul (Bihar) and Jogbani (Bihar). Government has also approved setting up of ICPs at Moreh (Manipur) and Dawki (Meghalaya).

Decision to put up more ICPs is taken based on volume of trade, number of passengers, potential for future growth of passengers and cargo traffic, etc. Such decisions are taken by Government after extensive inter-ministerial consultations and analysis with the aim to improve bilateral trade, relations and enhance security.

The Government has established the Land Ports Authority of India under the LPAI Act, 2010 with the objective to put in place systems which address security imperatives and for the development and management of facilities for cross border movement of passengers and goods at designated points along the International Borders of the Country.

This was stated by the Minister of State for Home Affairs, Shri Kiren Rijiju in written reply to a question by Shri N. Gokulakrishnan in the Rajya Sabha today.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, December 20 2017. 12:20 IST