You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Chitrakoot bypoll win an example of change: Congress

IANS  |  New Delhi 

spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala on Sunday called his party's victory in the Chitrakoot bypoll in an indication of change, and thanked the people for their faith in the party.

"The winds of change are in the air. Many thanks to the people of Chitrakoot for their faith and trust in the party," Surjewala tweeted.

After 19 rounds of counting, candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi was on Sunday declared elected to the Assembly from Chitrakoot constituency, defeating BJP candidate Shankar Dayal Tripathi by 14,133 votes. The vote count began at 8 a.m.

The election was called on November 9 after the death of Congress legislator A total of 12 candidates were in the fray including nine independents.

Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya and Madhya Pradesh chief Nandkumar Chouhan had campaigned for the party's candidate.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, November 12 2017. 16:04 IST