You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

CPI-M releases 1st list, repeats 8 of 9 sitting MPs

IANS  |  New Delhi 

The CPI-M on Saturday released its first list of 45 candidates for the elections, which includes eight of its nine sitting MPs.

The first list has candidates for 16 out of the 20 seats in Kerala, 16 out of the 42 seats in and the two seats in

In Kerala, it has given tickets to four of its five sitting MPs, including (Alathoor), (Palakkad), (Kannur) and (Attingal), while fielding K.P. Satheesh Chandran from Kasargode, the constituency of sitting member of

In West Bengal, the party has given tickets to both its sitting MPs -- and (Murshidabad).

In Tripura, it has retained Jitendra Chowdhury (East) and (West).

The party also announced candidates for two of the 14 seats in (Kokrajhar and Lakhimpur) and two of the 39 seats in (and Coimbatore).

It announced candidates for one seat each in (Hisar), (Mandi), (Rewa), (Dindori), Odisha (Bhubaneswar), (Anandpur Sahib) and Lakshadweep.

In West Bengal, the CPI-M has also fielded candidates from Jalpaiguri, Ranaghat, Bangaon, Dum Dum, Diaamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Kolkata Dakshin, Uluberia, Hooghly, Arambag, Bishnupur, Bardhaman Purba, Bardhaman-Durgapur and Birbhum.

In Kerala, the other seats for which the CPI-M has declared candidates, include Vadakara, Malappuram, Chalakudy, Ernakulam, Kottayam, Alappuzha, Pathanamthitta, Kollam, Attingal, Idukki and Ponnani.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, March 16 2019. 21:12 IST