You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

TRS wins all three Rajya Sabha seats in Telangana

IANS  |  Hyderabad 

Telangana's ruling Rashtra Samithi (TRS) bagged all three seats for which polling was held on Friday.

B. Prakash, J. Santosh Kumar and AB. were elected to the candidate and former union was defeated, officials said.

A total of 108 members of the Assembly voted. Prakash secured 33 votes while Santosh Kumar and Yadav polled 32 votes each. The candidate got only 10 votes as independent member Reddy's was declared invalid by the

The poll panel took the decision after the complaint by the that Prakash Reddy showed his to the agent before casting it.

The election became inevitable after the Congress fielded a candidate though the TRS had comfortable strength in the 119-member Assembly to win all three seats.

The TRS has 91 MLAs while the (MIM), which has seven members, also supported the ruling party.

The (five members), (two) and (one) abstained from voting.

Two Congress members -- Komatireddy Venkat Reddy, S.A. Sampath Kumar - could not as they were expelled from the House last week for allegedly hurling headphones during the Governor's address, injuring in his eye.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, March 23 2018. 19:54 IST