You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Two Telangana Congress MLAs disqualified for unruly behaviour

IANS  |  Hyderabad 

The Assembly on Tuesday disqualified two senior legislators due to their unruly behaviour during E.S.L. Narasimhan's address at the joint session the previous day.

announced the disqualification of Komatireddy Venkat Reddy and S.A. Sampath Kumar. They stand expelled from the House for the rest of the period of the current Assembly which is the first since became a separate state in 2014 and the term will last till April-May next year.

Eleven members including K. Jana Reddy, were also placed under suspension for the current budget session that began on Monday.

Venkat Reddy was seen throwing headphones at the when he was addressing the joint session on Monday. The headphone hit Council which led to an eye injury.

While the ruling Rashtra Samithi (TRS) and (MIM) fully supported the action against the members, the objected to the suspension of some members like

moved the motion for disqualification of the two Congress members under provisions of clause 3 of Article 194.

and MIM strongly condemned the Congress members' behaviour in the Assembly.

BJP floor leader felt the Speaker should have consulted all parties before moving the motion for suspending the 11 members.

In the Legislative Council, six Congress members -- Shabbir Ali, Komatireddy Rajagopal Reddy, Akula Lalitha, Damodar Reddy, P Sudhakar Reddy and Santosh -- were suspended for the current session.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, March 13 2018. 12:04 IST