You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Voting for 3 Lok Sabha seats in UP, Bihar on March 11

IANS  |  New Delhi 

By-elections to the seats of and in and Araira in will be held on March 11, the announced on Friday.

Polling will also be held in the constituencies of the same day. The poll panel said the vote count will take place on March 14.

The elections in the seats were necessitated after became the while was appointed his deputy.

Adityanath has represented five times in the from 1998. BJP insiders say is keen on contesting from Gorakhpur.

The Araria seat fell vacant after the death of Dal in September 2017.

The Jehanabad and Bhabhua constituencies fell vacant due to the death of BJP MLA and RJD MLA Mundrika

The BJP MLA passed away in November. Yadav, a former state Health Minister, succumbed to dengue a month earlier.

The said the last date for filing nominations for all five seats is February 20 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is February 23.

The model code of conduct will come into effect in the concerned districts with immediate effect.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, February 09 2018. 14:24 IST