You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

All MLAs in Andhra Pradesh vote for presidential election

Press Trust of India  |  Amaravati 

All the 175 MLAs in exercised their franchise in the presidential today.

The polling took place smoothly at the committee hall in the AP Legislature building at Velagapudi.

Chief Minister and Assembly Speaker Kodela Sivaprasada Rao were the first to cast their votes.

The four MLAs also cast their votes along with their ally.

Leader of Opposition and YSR president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy led his party MLAs for the voting.

However, two of the votes were likely to become invalid since two legislators reportedly wrote their names on the ballot paper.

This came to light after the polling when the chief minister held a meeting with his MLAs, according to sources.

The MP from Narsaraopet, Rayapati Sambasiva Rao, also cast his vote in the Assembly by obtaining special permission from the Commission because of personal reasons.

All the 175 MLAs in the AP Assembly, including those of the lone opposition YSRC, pledged their support to the NDA presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind.

The has four members in Rajya Sabha and none in Lok Sabha and the state Assembly.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 17:13 IST