You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Bajwa, Arora make second round exits

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

Second and third seeds Paramveer Bajwa and Amarnath Arora were shocked by unseeded rivals in round two of the J S Pereira Memorial AITA ranking tournament for men Wednesday.

Atharva Sharma of knocked out Punjab's Bajwa in three sets while Andhra Pradesh'sSrinivas stunned Delhi's Arora, also in three sets, at the Bandra Gymkhana here.

Sharma played with determination and stunned Bajwa by winning a tight tie-breaker to pocket the first set.

But he seemed to have lost focus as Bajwa made a strong reply and without dropping a game won the second to level the scores.

In the deciding set, Maharashtra's Sharma capitalised on unforced errors from Bajwa and went on to win the third to complete a 7-6(5), 0-6, 6-4 win and move into quarter-finals.

AP's Srinivas started hesitantly and struggled to keep pace with Delhi's Arora who hit some fine passing shots to easily claim the first set.

But Srinivas got his act together and, with slight change in tactics, started to play more aggressively to win the next two sets for a 1-6, 6-2, 6-4 victory to also book a place in the last eight.

Also advancing into the quarters were top Ishaque Eqbal of and fifth of Tamil Nadu who stayed on course to advance.

Sixth Bharath Nishok Kumaran of and Maharashtra's eighth seed crashed out in the second round after losing in three sets.

Kumaran lost to of in three sets, while Gujarat's Vaidik Munshaw accounted for Chaukulkar.

Results: Men's singles (2nd round): 1- (WB) bt (MP) 6-1, 6-2; 5- (TN) bt Gunjan Jadhav (MH) 6-2, 6-1; K Srinivas (AP) bt 3-Amarnath Arora (DL) 1-6, 6-2, 6-4; Vaidik Munshaw (GJ) bt 8-(MH) 2-6, 6-4, 7-5; Shahbaaz Khan (MH) bt Praneet Kudale (MH) 6-0, 6-3; 4-Shivam Dalmia (DL) bt Yash Yadav (MP) 7-6(4), 2-6, 6-3; (MH) bt 6-Bharath Nishok Kumaran (TN) 1-6, 6-4, 6-4; Atharva Sharma (MH) bt 2-Paramveer Singh Bajwa (PB) 7-6(5), 0-6, 6-4.

Men's Doubles (2nd round): (WB)/ Yash Yadav (MP) bt Shastri Shimon (MH)/(MP) 6-4, 7-5; (TS)/(MP) bt Suraj H.(KL)/Umair Shaik (AP) 6-3, 4-6, 10-7; (DL)/ Sagar Ahuja (MH) bt (TN)/Bharath Nisok Kumaran (TN) 6-4, 7-6(3).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, November 07 2018. 19:05 IST