You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

BJP recognising "good" work of UP ministers with LS poll ticket

Press Trust of India  |  Lucknow 

The BJP has so far given tickets to four cabinet ministers.

is the latest to be fielded for the LS polls. The in its first list had named for Animal Husbandry, Minor Irrigation and Fisheries S P Singh Baghel as its candidate from (SC).

The names of for Women, Family, and Child Welfare and Minister for Khadi Village Industries, Sericulture, Textile, Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises, Export Promotion (Kanpur) were announced by the party in its tenth list of candidates on Wednesday.

Mukut Bihari's name figures in the 21st list released by the party on Monday.

Joshi, who is presently also the in the cabinet headed by Minister Yogi Adityanath, had contested the 2014 from Lucknow Parliamentary Constituency on a ticket and lost to the BJP's Rajnath Singh.

"Seeing their track record, utility and effectiveness in respective areas, dedication towards the party, communication with the party workers and their overall performance, the names of ministers were zeroed in on," told

Apart from Mukut Bihari, the party announced candidates for six other Parliamentary Constituencies on Monday.

Some of the prominent names in the list, included Bhojpuri and Ravi Kishan, who has been fielded for the party's bastion in The seat was represented by Adityanath, till he became minister.

The saffron party gave ticket to from Sant Kabir Nagar.

Nishad had earned the title as the giant-killer of Gorakhpur, after he pulled off a surprise victory in last year's by-polls.

Nishad had recently joined the BJP. The had ended its alliance with the Samajwadi Party-BSP last week.

is the son of Sanjay Nishad, who heads the Nirbal Indian Shoshit Hamara Aam Dal.

The from Sant Kabir Nagar had created a political storm by beating BJP Mehdawal MLA with shoes, after the two had an argument over taking credit for a newly laid road.

Tripathi has now been dropped from the seat. However, he can seek solace from the fact that the party has given ticket to his father Ramapati from Deoria. was the during 2009 elections.

Deoria is represented by former union minister

The saffron party has given ticket to Sangam Lal Gupta from Pratapgarh, the parliamentary constituency which was won by BJP ally Apna Dal in 2014.

The party has fielded KP Singh from Jaunpur and from Bhadohi, it said in a statement issued on Monday.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, April 16 2019. 16:20 IST