You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Honda riders Rajiv Sethu, Mithun Kumar grab pole positions

Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

: of Ten10 Racing snatched pole position in the 165cc class ahead of his TVS Racing rivals in the fourth round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI National Motorcycle Racing Championship at the MMRT track at near on Friday.

Sethu put in a blistering lap of one minute, 54.999 seconds to nose out TVS Racing duo of defending champion Jagan Kumar (01:55.034) and (01:55.409).

Jagan heads the championship table with 112 points, well clear of team-mate KY Ahamed (91) who qualified fourth.

Sethu (70), who drew a blank in the previous round earlier this month, is placed fourth in the championship behind Ravikumar (74).

P K Mithun Kumar of Ten10 Racing topped the qualifying session in the Pro-Stock 165cc class with Naresh Babu (RACR) and Senthil Kumar (Ten10 Racing) completing the front row for tomorrows race.

Earlier,Prabhu Arunagiri (Team Alisha Abdullah) qualified for pole position in the Pro-Stock 301-400cc category though he did just three laps, but his timing of 01:54.857 was enough to put him ahead of the pack.

Sparks Racing's Rahil Pilari Shetty was second quickest followed by in this category, Amarnath Menon (Gusto Racing).

Sparks Racing riders dominated the qualifying sessions in the Novice (165cc) and Girls (Stock 165cc) categories by claiming top two slots.

In the Girls category, expectedly took pole ahead of team-mate Ryhana Bee, while Bengalurus Aditya Immaneni and Karthik Mateti from were 1-2 in the Novice (165cc) class.

Immaneni enjoyed a fruitful afternoon as he also clinched pole in the MMSC One-Make Championship (Novice).

Results (Qualifying): (165cc): 1. (Honda Ten 10 Racing) (01min, 54.999sec); 2. Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing) (01:55.034); 3. (TVS Racing) (01:55.


Pro-Stock (301-400cc): 1. Prabhu Arunagiri (Team Alisha Abdullah) (01:54.857); 2. Rahil Pilari Shetty (Sparks Racing) (01:55.

962); 3. Amarnath Menon (Gusto Racing) (01:56.307).

Pro-Stock (165cc): 1. Mithun Kumar PK (Honda Ten10 Racing) (1:59.601); 2. (RACR) (1:59.658); 3. Senthil Kumar (Honda Ten 10Racing) (2:00.510).

Novice (Stock 165cc): 1. Aditya (Sparks Racing) (02:08.109); 2. Karthik Mateti (Sparks Racing) (02:08. 570); 3. Venkatesan I (Pvt, Chennai) (02:09.011).

Girls (Stock 165cc): 1. AS (Sparks Racing) (02:13.

582); 2. Ryhana Bee (Sparks Racing) (02:13.605); 3. Shruthi Nagarajan (Apex Racing Academy) (02:16.014).

MMSC One-Make Championship (Novice): 1. Aditya Rao Immaneni (Bengaluru) (02:09.825); 2. Nithin S (Bengaluru) (02:10.873); 3. (02:11.571).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, September 21 2018. 20:20 IST