You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Honda racer Rajiv Sethu pips Jagan Kumar for a double

Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

lad of Idemitsu Racing recorded a double in the Super Sport Indian 165cc class in the second round of MMSC FMSCI National Motorcycle Racing Championship 2018 at the MMRT track at near here today.

In a virtual repeat of yesterday's first race, Sethu scored another win over national champion Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing).

Jagan Kumar, after leading for much of the eight-lap race, yielded ground and finished second ahead of Sarath Kumar (Idemitsu Racing).

The double win took Sethu to the top of the championship standings with 70 points, well clear of defending champion Jagan (62).

Also scoring wins were Kozhikode's Amarnath Menon, who led a 1-2 finish for Gusto Racing in the Pro-Stock 301-400cc class, of RACR (Pro-Stock 165cc) and Karthik Mateti who headed a Sparks Racing podium sweep in the Novice category while also setting a lap record in the class.

Menon was involved in a three-way battle that included team-mate Sathyanarayana Raju and Prabhu Arunagiri (Team Alisha Abdullah).

As the race progressed, Menon and Raju swapped lead positions lap by lap while opening up a gap on Arunagiri.

Eventually, Menon got his nose in front and hung on to win his second race of the season with Raju in second spot followed by Arunagiri.

Menon now heads the championship in this class with 72 points, 11 clear of Raju.

Earlier, Sparks Racing team swept all three podium spots in the Novice (Stock, 165cc) category race with Mateti, a 19-year old Commerce student from Hyderabad, (Bengaluru) and Alexander AS (Chennai) taking the chequered flag in that order after a close fight.

After two rounds, Mateti and Rao are tied with 43 points apiece, having one race apiece.

Results (Provisional all 8 laps unless mentioned): (165cc) Race 2: 1. (Idemitsu Honda Ten 10 Racing) (15mins, 37.026sec); 2. Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing) (15:40.465); 3. Sarath Kumar (Idemitsu Honda Ten 10 Racing) (15:57.911).

Pro-Stock (165cc) Race 2: 1. (RACR) (16:57.586); 2. (Idemitsu Honda Ten 10 Racing) (17:03.115); 3. Senthil Kumar (Idemitsu Honda Ten 10 Racing) (17:07.286).

Pro-Stock (301-400cc) Race 2: 1. K (Gusto Racing India) (15:37.673); 2. Sathyanarayana Raju (Gusto Racing India) (15:38.943); 3. Prabhu Arunagiri (Team Alisha Abdullah) (15:39.216).

Novice (Stock 165cc, 6 laps): 1. (Sparks Racing) (13:01.676); 2. I (Sparks Racing) (13.04.384); 3. Alexander AS (Sparks Racing) (13:04.663).

Talent Cup 2018 organised by MMSC

Open (CBR 250cc) Race 2: 1. Anish Shetty (Bengaluru) (16:48.671); 2. (Bengaluru) (16:49.460); 3. (16:49.692).

Novice (CBR 150cc) Race 2 (6 laps): 1. Mohamed Mikail (Chennai) (13:23.224); 2. (Karnataka) (13:34.011); 3. (Kerala) 13:47.298.

TVS One-Make Championship Open (Apache R310) Race 2: 1. (16:21.188); 2. Deepak Ravikumar (Chennai) (16:21.244); 3. Yashas RL (Bengaluru) (16:30.900).

Novice (Apache 200) Race 2 (6 laps): 1. (Hyderabad) (13:37.283); 2. Venkatesan (Chennai) (13:50.679); 3. Alexander AS (Chennai) (13:50.726).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, July 08 2018. 17:10 IST