You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

LS bypolls in UP: Counting of votes begins

Press Trust of India  |  Lucknow 

Counting of votes for the and bye-elections began today amid tight security arrangements.

The results are expected to be declared by afternoon, an (EC) said.

Ten nominees were in the fray from Gorakhpur, while 22 candidates contested from

According to the EC, there are 19.61 lakh voters in the Parliamentary constituency, while the seat has 19.49 lakh voters.

The bypolls were necessitated after Uttar Pradesh and Deputy vacated the and Phulpur seats respectively, following their election to the

Termed by Uttar Pradesh a "rehearsal" for the 2019 Lok Sabha election, the bypolls saw a triangular contest involving the ruling BJP, the SP and the

The saffron party had fielded Kaushalendra Singh Patel from Phulpur and Upendra Dutt Shukla from Gorakhpur. The SP had fielded Pravin Nishad from Gorakhpur and Nagendra from Phulpur. The had nominated for Gorakhpur and for Phulpur.

Gorakhpur is significant for the BJP as it is the bastion of the chief minister, who represented the seat in the Lok Sabha five times. Prior to Adityanath, the seat was thrice represented in Parliament by his mentor, Yogi Avaidyanath.

Phulpur, once represented by the country's Jawaharlal Nehru, witnessed a saffron surge in the 2014 Lok Sabha election when Maurya won the seat.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, March 14 2018. 08:50 IST