You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

UP: Voting starts for Gorakhpur, Phulpur LS bypolls

Press Trust of India  |  Lucknow 

Voting for the bye-elections to and seats commenced today amid tight security.

The bypolls were necessitated after and Deputy vacated the and seats respectively, following their election to the Legislative Council.

Termed by Adityanath a rehearsal for the 2019 election, the bye-elections are witnessing a triangular contest involving the ruling BJP, the and the

The saffron party has fielded Kaushalendra Singh Patel from and Upendra Dutt Shukla from against the SP's Pravin Nishad and Nagendra respectively. The has nominated for Gorakhpur and for Phulpur Lok Sabha seat.

Ten candidates are in the fray from Gorakhpur, while 22 candidates are contesting from Phulpur.

Apart from the Provincial Armed Constabulary and homeguards, 65 companies of central paramilitary forces have been deployed to ensure peaceful bypolls.

In Gorakhpur parliamentary constituency, there are 970 polling centres and 2141 polling booths, while in Phulpur, there are 793 polling centres and 2059 polling booths.

According to the Election Commission, there 19.61 lakh voters in Phulpur parliamentary constituency, while there are 19.49 lakh electorate for Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat.

As many as 4,728 (VVPAT) machines are being used in the bypoll and provisions for webcasting from 95 critical booths have been made.

Gorakhpur is significant for the BJP as it is the bastion of the chief minister, who represented the seat in the Lok Sabha five times. Prior to Yogi Adityanath, the seat was represented in Parliament by his mentor Yogi Avaidyanath thrice.

Phulpur, once represented by India's Jawaharlal Nehru, witnessed a saffron surge in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections and Maurya won there.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, March 11 2018. 08:45 IST