You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

RJD-Cong alliance to announce candidates for by-polls tomorrow

Press Trust of India  |  Patna 

The RJD-alliance in has reached an agreement over seat sharing in the by-polls for two Assembly segments and one constituency and will announce the candidates tomorrow, a top in the state today said.

"I met senior RJD leaders Rabri Devi and Tejashwi Yadav this evening. The alliance between both parties is intact. We will fight the by-polls together and announce our candidates for the same tomorrow," of the Kaukab Qadri told

The bypolls in all the three seats will be held on March 11.

"Our detractors would be hugely disappointed to learn that their hopes of strains in the alliance, speculations about which arose after some statements by some leaders, are dashed," Qadri claimed.

The Pradesh Congress Committee was referring to statements made by Congress leaders Sadanand Singh and yesterday.

Singh had said that the Congress should fight Bhabhua Assembly seat "even if" RJD insisted on fielding its candidate there.

Choudhary had suggested that the party should stake its claim over Araria seat which has fallen vacant following the death of sitting

said "all is well with the alliance. Whatever has been decided, will be made public jointly by leaders of both parties tomorrow".

Meanwhile, sources in both parties confirmed that the Congress was likely to contest Bhabhua where by-poll has been necessitated by the death of BJP MLA

The RJD is likely to field its candidates in Araria as well as seat which has fallen vacant due to the demise of MLA Mundrika Yadav.

Taslimuddin's son had quit the JD(U) last week to join the RJD. He shared the stage with Tejashwi Yadav at a public meeting in Araria early this week leading to speculations that he might be fielded from the seat which was represented by his father.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, February 14 2018. 23:30 IST