You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Sathyanarayana Raju scorches track to notch up win


Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

: Hyderabad's Satyanarayana Raju (Gusto Racing) came up with an impressive performance to win the Pro-Stock 301-400cc class race in the second round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship at the MMRT track at nearby Sriperumbudur today.

Riding a KTM RC 390, Raju, a 20-year old Computer Science student, who won the championship last year in the Honda CBR 150 category, scored a lights-to-flag victory that underlined his absolute dominance in the six-lap race that saw him lead a 1-2 finish for his team, Gusto Racing.

Earlier, in the premier Super Sport Indian 165cc class qualifying run, defending champion Jagan Kumar of TVS Racing eased his way to pole position with a scorching lap of 01:55. 625, which incidentally was his best effort at the MMRT.

Second on the grid for Saturday's Race 1 was arch-rival Rajiv Sethu of Idemitsu Honda Ten10 Racing,who timed 01:55. 952,ahead of Deepak Ravikumar,also of TVS Racing (01:57.041).

Championship leader K Y Ahamed (TVS Racing) who was the quickest in yesterdays free practice session, could only put in just three laps due to dust in the carburettor and finished fifth in 01:57.674 behind Sarath Kumar of Idemitsu Honda Ten10 Racing (01:57.516).

Others qualifying for pole positions in their respective categories were:

Pro-Stock 165cc: Mithun Kumar (Idemitsu Honda Ten10 Racing, 02:06.163).

Novice(165cc): Alexander A S (Sparks Racing) (02:09.323).

Girls: Sruthi Nagarajan (Apex Racing Academy)(02:15.891).

Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup 2018 organised by MMSC: Anish D Shetty (Hubballi) (02:05.032).

Novice (CBR 150): Kritik Vasan Habib (Karnataka) (02:13. 568).

TVS One-Make Championship Open (Apache RR310): Yashas RL (Bengaluru) (02:01.629).

Novice (Apache RTR 200): Karthik Mateti (Hyderabad) (02:15.511).

Girls (Apache RTR 200):Anne Jennifer (Chennai) (02:19.920).

Results (Provisional): Pro-Stock (301-400cc) Race 1 (6 laps):

1.Sathyanarayana Raju (Gusto Racing) (11 mins: 38.079 secs); 2. Amarnath K Menon (Gusto Racing) (11:39.897); 3. Prabhu Arunagiri (Team Alish Abdullah) (11:40.966).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Fri, July 06 2018. 20:55 IST