You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Ahamed leads TVS Racing to 1-2 finish

Press Trust of India  |  Coimbatore 

K Y Ahamed rode a brilliant race to lead a TVS Racing 1-2 finish in the Super Sport Indian 165cc class in the Rolon Round of the MMSC FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship at the here today.

Finishing behind Ahamed, who started from fourth on the grid, was team-mate and reigning National champion Jagan Kumar, and pole-sitter Mathana Kumar of Ten10 Racing in a race that was delayed by rain.

Ahamed had a strong start as he slipped past Sarath Kumar (Ten10 Racing) to third position.

Stepping up the pace, he soon caught up with Jagan and Mathana and overtook them by the end of the second lap.

Once in the front, Ahamed did not look back despite his visor getting fogged and at times missing the braking points.

The race was re-started when Prabhu Arunagiri's bike engine blew in the very first lap on the start-finish straight leading to a red flag and a 'quick start'.

Earlier, local lad (Vortex Racing), a 22-year old automotive engineering student, won a tight race in the Pro-Stock 301-400 cc class that was red-flagged due to sharp showers and reduced to seven laps from the scheduled 10.

Bengaluru's 42-year old techie Ananth Krishnan (Apex Racing Academy) completed the podium after surviving a few moments on the slippery track.

With the showers continuing and a few riders crashing, the race was red-flagged.

A heavy downpour early this afternoon delayed the proceedings, but with the track drying up quickly, the programme resumed.

The results (Provisional): NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP

165 cc (Race 1, 7 laps): 1. K Y Ahamed (TVS Racing) (08mins, 49.787 secs); 2.Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing) (08:50.122);3. Mathana Kumar (Ten10 Racing) (08:50.595).

Pro-Stock 165cc (Race 1, 7 laps): 1.(Honda Ten10 Racing) (09:20.975); 2. (Rockers Racing) (09:21.094); 3. S Sivanesan (TVS Racing) (09:26.011).

Pro-Stock 301-400cc (Race 1, 7 laps): 1. (Vortex Racing) (09:13.827); 2. Peddu Sriharsha (Sparks Racing) (09:14.288); 3. Ananth Krishnan (Apex Racing Academy) (09:24.


One-Make Championship: 2018 organised by MMSC

Race 1 (CBR 250): 1. (Coimbatore) (13:14. 654); 2. (13:14.782); 3.Jaden Gunawardena (Sri Lanka) (13:25.373).

TVS Novice (Apache RTR 200, 10 laps): 1. (Hyderabad) (15:08.752); 2. (15:31. 452); 3. A S Alexander (Chennai) (15:45.814).

Girls(Apache RTR 180, 8 laps): 1. (12:09.398); 2. (Chennai) (12:10.661); 3. R V Czimkay (12:42.825).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, June 09 2018. 20:00 IST