You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Teenager Humera stuns second-seed Samhitha

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

Sixteen-year-old sixth seed Humera Shaikh of Telangana produced a stand-out performance to record a stunning straight sets win against second seed in a women's singles quarter-finals match at the AITA Ranking Rs 22 lakh JVPG Anirudh Desai All-Open Tournament 2018 here today.

Humera, No. 7 ranked, played confidently against the ninth ranked and 23-year-old Sai from and romped to a 6-5, 7-5 win to advance to the semi-finals.

Meanwhile another teenager, 16-year-old and top seed of had things much her own way as she eased to a comfortable 6-1, 6-2 victory against eighth seed Nidhi Chilumula of Telagana.

Fourth seed Nithyaraj Baburaj, ranked 14th, powered her way past unseeded Dedeepya Sai of Telangana winning in straight sets, at 6-0, 6-3 to set up a clash with Jain in the semi-finals.

Mihika Yadav continued with her run of winning as she defeated Bhuvana Kalva by a 6-3, 7-5 scoreline to complete the semi-final line-up.

In the only completed men's singles quarter-final match, third seed of recovered well after losing a close opening set to overcome unseeded Prajwal Dev of 6-7(6), 6-3, 6-0 to move into the semi-final.

Top seed of suffered a back injury and conceded his match to seventh seed Siddharth Vishwakarma of Chandigarh after trailing 4-5 in the first set.

Second seed Dalwinder Singh did not report for his match against Peranamallur Vignesh of

Kunal Anand of was also lucky to advance to the last four after Maharashtra's Jayesh Pungliya injured his wrist and forfeited his match after leading 4-1 in the first set.

Results Women's singles (Quarter-finals): 1-Mihika Yadav (MH) bt Bhuvana Kalva (TS) 6-3, 7-5; 1-(MP) bt 8-Nidhi Chilumula (TS) 6-1, 6-2; 4-(TN) bt Dedeepya Sai (TS) 6-0, 6-3; 6-Humera Shaikh (TS) bt 2-Sai Samhitha (TN) 6-4, 7-5.

Men's singles (Quarterfinals): 3- (TN) bt Prajwal Dev (KA) 6-7(6), 6-3, 6-0; 7-Siddharth Vishwakarma (CG) bt (MH) 5-4 (conceded); 4-Kunal Anand (DL) bt Jayesh Pungliya (MH) 1-4 (conceded); Prenamallur Vignesh (AP) w/o 2-Dalwinder Singh (PB).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, February 09 2018. 21:00 IST