Business Standard

JVPG Anirudh Desai All India Open Tennis tourney from Feb 5


Press Trust of India Mumbai
Leading Indian players would take part in the ATP Ranking Men's and Women's Rs 22 lakh JVPG Anirudh Desai All India Open Tennis Championship to held here from February 5 to 11.

Matches will be held in different categories- men's singles, men's doubles, women's singles, women's doubles and mixed doubles, the organisers said at a press conference here today.

The tournament will be held at the Juhu Vile Parle Gymkhana Club, which has organised it.

In the men's singles, defending champion Sidharth Rawat from Uttar Pradesh (rank 7) is the top seeded player, while Pune's 24-year-old Arjun Kadhe, who is ranked 10, is seeded second.

Kadhe has won one ITF Futures singles title and two ITF Futures doubles titles in 2017.

Current national champion Dalwinder Singh and runner up Suraj Prabodh will also take part in the tournament.

In the women's singles, Mahak Jain from Madhya Pradesh, who is ranked seventh is the top seeded as defending champion Riya Bhatia, who is ranked fifth has withdrawn from the championship.

The organisers did not specify the reasons why Bhatia has withdrawn from the championship.

Sixteen-year-old Mahak has represented India in the US Open Junior Tennis Championship 2017, The Junior Championship 2017, Wimbledon and Australian Open 2017 Junior.

Winners of the men's and women's singles will go home richer by Rs 2 lakh, while the runners up will get Rs one lakh. Interestingly, losers in the first round will also get Rs 12,000.

The doubles winners in all the three categories will get Rs 50,000, while the runners-up will get Rs 30,000, the organisers said.

Top five players participating in the tournament: Men's top five: Sidharth Rawat (UP rank 7), Arjun Kadhe (Mah - rank 11), Suraj R Prabodh (KA - rank 14), Dalwinder Singh (PB - rank 15), Manish Sureshkumar (TN - rank 17).

Women's top five: Mahak Jain (MP-rank 7), Sai Samhitha (TN- rank 9), Rishika Sunkara (DL- rank 13), Nithyaraj Baburaj (TN- rank 14), Eetee Maheta (GJ- rank 15).

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Jan 31 2018 | 5:55 PM IST

Explore News