You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Two former Cong MLAs join BJP in Manipur

Press Trust of India  |  Imphal 

Two former MLAs today joined ahead of the upcoming state elections due in early 2017.

The former MLAs, N Biren and Francis Ngajokpa were warmly received by National General Secretary Ram Madhav, BJP's Convenor Himanta Biswa and state party President Bhabananda here.

Ngajokpa had tendered his resignation from the house as well as from the primary membership of the party on October 13 and N Biren on October 6 this year.

Though Ngajokpa maintained that he had resigned from due to the pressure of his voters of Tadubi in Senapati district, N Biren alleged that the present incumbent Ibobi Singh government had failed to bring good governance in the state.

Earlier in September last, veteran Congress Y Erabot was the first to resign from the party to join

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, October 17 2016. 16:13 IST