Business Standard

Winners Announced for Deakin & Times Now Present Deakin Vice Chancellor's Meritorious Scholarship 2019


Press Trust of India NEW DELHI
/ -- Aiswarya Aanand, Riya Sharma, Girish Gupta and Damini Jai Singh were announced as the winners of the Deakin & Times Now present Deakin Vice Chancellor's Meritorious Scholarship 2019. Applications were received from many cities across India, with the culmination round being telecast on Times Now, India's leading English News channel.
The announcement of the prestigious scholarships is a part of the association between Deakin University and Times Now towards an initiative of 'Changing Lives' with the objective of rewarding bright minds with 100% tuition fee waiver scholarships for on-shore studies in areas in STEM, Sports, Arts and one for any other area at Deakin University. The scholarship in each of these individual study areas were offered in recognition by an industry partner - BIOCON for STEM and Rajasthan Royals for Sport.
The students undertook an extensive selection process including interviews and group discussions. The four scholarship winners were chosen by the panel of judges which included Mr. John Gloster (Head Physio, Rajasthan Royals), Mr. Amitava Saha (President & Head of HR, BIOCON) and Ms. Ravneet Pawha (Dy VP - Global Engagement, Deakin University). The four winners have now joined the elite group of 19 scholars who have been earlier awarded the Vice Chancellor's Meritorious Scholarships since 2014.
Aiswarya Aanand, the winner of the Sports Scholarship, is an avid sportsperson and has represented her state U-19 cricket team and captained the volleyball team at IIT Madras at the prestigious Inter-IIT tournament. She is keen to use this opportunity to enhance her knowledge and skills to work on performativity and resistance among sportswomen back in her state.
Riya Sharma, winner of the STEM Scholarship, hails from Chandigarh and is very passionate towards pursuing a career in Genetics and hence applied for Bachelor of Biomedical Science and aims to pursue research in genetics. She is excited about the VCPEP (Vice Chancellor Professional Excellence Program) which helps students to come out of their comfort zone and accomplish professional goals, which can help shape her personality and education to help the world.
Girish Gupta won the scholarship in the other areas category and has chosen the MBA program at Deakin University to establish industry connections and develop a varied skill set which would set him up to achieve his entrepreneurial career. Girish is looking forward to studying at Deakin University and is confident that it would be extremely exciting, fun, and valuable for both academic and holistic development.
Damini Jai Singh, a national-level shooter, won the scholarship for Arts and she has chosen Psychology as her study area at Deakin University. She wishes to specialize in Sport Psychology and explore the ways in which it can be used to make a difference in the lives of sportspersons in India. Being in the sports circle, she has experienced the need for Psychology in Sport and is confident of making an impact both in behaviour and performance of sportspersons.
The Deakin Vice Chancellor's Meritorious Scholarships is offered in India since 2014 and so far, 23 scholars including this year's 4 winners have been awarded this prestigious scholarship in various areas of study for both undergraduate and postgraduate programs at Deakin University in Australia.
About Deakin University

Established in 1974, Deakin University successfully combines excellence in teaching, research and effective partnerships with industry and government to deliver high quality courses and undertake research that makes a difference to the domestic and international communities it serves. Deakin's South Asia operations commenced in 1994 at New Delhi, India, making it one of the first overseas education provider to set operations in this region. Here, Deakin engages with the government, industry and the academia to share its vibrant culture of education and research. For more information, visit:



Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Aug 30 2019 | 11:05 AM IST

Explore News