You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Yuki Bhambri to meet Miralles in Chennai Open first round

Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

A total of 13 Indians will feature in the singles main draw of the Open ATP Challenger to be played at the SDAT stadium here from tomorrow.

Three Indians got into the main draw after coming through the final qualifying round today.

The singles main draw will see top-seed of (ranked 103) take on Egypt's Karim-Mohamed Maamoun in round one.

India's top singles player, Yuki Bhambri, the second-seed will take on of in his opening match.

The 112-ranked Bhambri, who qualified for the Australian Open, will be looking for some momentum ahead of the long season, which also includes a tie against

Abhinav Sanjeev Shanmugam, a little-known local player, and made it to the main draw, albeit in contrasting styles.

qualified when his second-seeded rival of Serbia, gave a walkover owing to

Khade defeated Switzerland's 7-5, 6-2 while Rawat advanced when compatriot conceded while trailing 4-1 in the decider.

Wishaya Trongcharoenchaikul of Thailand, the top-seed in qualifying, breezed past Haadin Bava 6-2, 6-2. He will meet India's N in the first round.

In an interesting opening round clash, Saketh Myneni, who is returning from injury, will take on

Gunneswaran, the eighth-seed, meets of in round one while (No.5 seed) will encounter Frenchman

The $50,000 Challenger event offers Indian players a good opportunity to pick up valuable ATP points while Bhambri and Nagal will be aiming to go all the way as they attempt to rise in the rankings.

Seeded players: 1. Jordan Thompson, 2. Yuki Bhambri, 3. Duckhee Lee (Korea), 4. (Egypt), 5. Sumit Nagal (Ind), 6. Yasutaka Uchiyama (Japan), 7, Enrique Lopez Perez (Spain), 8. Prajnesh Gunneswaran.

Results: Final qualifying round (Indian unless stated): Wishaya Trongcharoenchaikul (X1) bt Haadin Bava 6-2, 6-2; Abhinav w/o (Serbia-X2); Arjun Khade bt (Sui) 7-5, 6-2; (5) bt 6-7, 6-3, 4-1 (retired).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, February 11 2018. 16:30 IST