You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

3-member team to select BJP candidates for Bihar

IANS  |  Patna 

The BJP on Thursday formed a three-member committee to select candidates for the 17 seats it is contesting in in the upcoming elections.

The election committee includes state Nityanand Rai, and

The committee, formed at a meeting held at the party headquarters, has been told not to deny party tickets to any from Bihar, BJP sources said.

Minister told the media that the list of selected candidates will be sent to the for final approval.

The will announce names of candidates for all the 40 seats in the state before March 21.

The BJP is contesting 17 of the 40 seats in

According to the seat-sharing formula decided by the alliance, the BJP and the Janata Dal-United (JD-U) will contest 17 seats each, while the remaining six seats will go to the Ram Vilas Paswan-led (LJP).



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, March 14 2019. 16:28 IST