You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

BJP ally names own candidates for Tripura LS seats

IANS  |  Agartala 

In a first major setback to the year-old BJP-led coalition government in Tripura, alliance partner IPFT on Saturday announced their own nominees for the state's two seats.

The (IPFT) nominated from the East from the West.

The is likely to announce their candidates in New on Saturday night or Sunday morning.

Reacting to its ally's move, BJP said: "We would appeal to the IPFT to reconsider their decision and withdraw the candidates otherwise political rivals would get the electoral advantage."

Immediately after the day-long meeting of the IPFT's Central Executive Committee, its highest policy making body, and Forest Minister announced the names of the party nominees.

In a media briefing, Debbarma and Jamatia said that they had long been requesting the BJP to allow the IPFT to contest from Tripura East since it's reserved for tribals.

"As the BJP did not accept our proposal, we have no other alternative to put up candidates in both the seats. However, we would not withdraw support from the coalition government and the IPFT wants the NDA to form government again at the centre after the current polls," Debbarma said.

BJP Ram Madhav, Minister and Education and held separate meetings with the IPFT leaders here on Wednesday and Thursday, but could not reach an agreement as both sides remained firm at fielding their candidates in the two Lok Sabha seats.

Minister and state BJP is now holding meetings with the central party leaders in to finalise the candidates.

In last year's assembly polls, the BJP-IPFT alliance defeated the Left overwhelmingly, winning 44 seats in the 60-member assembly.

The IPFT, which won eight of the seats, has two ministers in the nine-member ministry.

West Tripura goes to the polls on April 11 in the first phase of the Lok Sabha polls and East Tripura on April 18 in the second phase. Votes will be counted on May 23.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, March 16 2019. 21:54 IST